• Home
  • News Center
  • QUICKBOOK USERS WARNING, PHISHING SCAM MISUSING INTUIT of AZ’s GOOD NAME

QUICKBOOK USERS WARNING, PHISHING SCAM MISUSING INTUIT of AZ’s GOOD NAME

11/25/2009

Bookmark & Share
  • MySpace
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • StumbleUpon

QUICKBOOK USERS WARNING, PHISHING SCAM MISUSING

INTUIT of AZ’s GOOD NAME

Watch for Subject: Intuit Secure Update

Phishing scam email reports that there has been a security breach of client information concerning Quickbook users, etc. and this email explains steps to take to secure your info with them.

THIS IS A SCAM. Intuit, a BBB Accredited Business, is aware of this issue and is investigating. They have posted a warning to their web site that states:

“Intuit is receiving reports of individuals receiving fraudulent email from QuickBooks or QuickBooks Online. The emails ask customers to download a plug in to assess their security. Customers should delete this email.”

BBB ADVICE

Intuit's corporate offices requests that anyone receiving these emails to forward them to the following address for review and investigation:
privacy@intuit.com

Whenever you receive a random email directing you to download a plug-in or to upload a software program, etc. and it is related to a “security breach warning,” make sure you confirm with reliable resources whether the email is real or not BEFORE doing what the email says to do or you are at 100% risk of compromising your computer safety and personal info.

FULL REPORT HERE:

http://security.intuit.com/alerts/alert.php?a=8

Average Rating | Rate It

z